Explanations » A1 Vocabulary Explanations » Days, months and seasons – A1 English Vocabulary

Days, months and seasons

Chart of days, months, and seasons for A1 English vocabulary learning.

Days of the week

The days of the week are seven:

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

In most countries, the first day of the week is Monday, but in some countries, like the United States, the first day is Sunday. There are five working days, from Monday to Friday, and two weekend days, Saturday and Sunday.

The days of the week are capitalised. It means that the first letter is a CAPITAL letter:

  • I start work early on monday. blank
  • I start work early on Monday. blank

Months of the year

There are twelve months in a year:

  • January
  • February
  • March
  • April
  • May
  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September
  • October
  • November
  • December

The months of the year are also capitalised.

  • I don’t like february because it’s very cold. blank
  • I don’t like February because it’s very cold. blank

The four seasons

There are four seasons:

  • autumn (UK) / fall (US)
  • winter
  • spring
  • summer

In the United States, they say “fall”, but in the UK and other countries, they say “autumn”.

The seasons are NOT capitalised.

  • My favourite season is Spring. blank
  • My favourite season is spring. blank